A new type of immersive exhibition
636
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-636,bridge-core-1.0.6,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-18.2,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.5,vc_responsive

A new type of immersive exhibition

The travelling exhibition Imagine Picasso has opened in Lyon, the City of Lights and the adopted home of its two directors Annabelle Mauger and Julien Baron.

 

“Educational in substance and moving in form, this exhibition is a way of looking at art with new eyes,” said Androula Michael, a curator specialising in Picasso’s work. “The aim of this immersive exhibition, accessible to all, regardless of age, language, and culture, is to open the space to emotion, dreams and contemplation for everyone, even the youngest visitors.”

 

The images projected onto Rudy Ricciotti’s extraordinary structures offer a different perspective for discovering Picasso. The public is invited to enter an immersive space where Picasso’s work is in dialogue with that of the architect. Choosing their own route in close proximity to the art, visitors can feel the power of the artist’s work.

 

This artistic approach in “Image Totale”, designed by Annabelle Mauger, immerses the viewer in the heart of the paintings to explore the details. More than 200 of Picasso’s works are projected in “Image Totale”. The works are unleashed from their frames to inhabit the space in a continuous flow.

 

Plunged into darkness, guided only by the light of the works, everyone experiences the exhibition in a different way. Free to choose their own path, visitors become participants, who can take as long as they like to gaze in any direction and immerse themselves in Picasso’s work.

 

The projection is accompanied by music from Picasso’s contemporaries, Satie and Ravel, and also contemporary composers. The music enhances the immersive experience and adds a new dimension that opens the way for dreaming and contemplation.

 

Be guided by your eyes and ears and not by what’s in your head.

 

Each visitor is swept along without noticing the technological innovation that lies behind an exhibition like this.

 

 

Family of acrobats with monkey, 1905, Konstmuseum, Göteborg
© Succession Picasso 2019

Une exposition immersive d’un nouveau genre
246
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-246,bridge-core-1.0.6,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-18.2,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.5,vc_responsive

Une exposition immersive d’un nouveau genre

L’exposition itinérante Imagine Picasso s’installe à Lyon, ville des Lumières et terre d’adoption des deux réalisateurs Annabelle Mauger et Julien Baron.

 

« Didactique sur le fond et émouvante sur la forme, cette exposition est à contempler avec des yeux neufs » souligne Androula Michael, commissaire d’exposition spécialiste de l’œuvre de Picasso. « Ouvrir l’espace de l’émotion, du rêve et de la contemplation à tous les publics, y compris les plus jeunes est l’ambition de cette exposition immersive accessible à toute personne, quels que soient son âge, sa langue, sa culture ».

 

L’image projetée sur les volumes « hors norme » de Rudy Ricciotti offre un angle différent pour découvrir Picasso. Le public est invité à entrer dans un espace d’immersion où l’œuvre de Picasso dialogue avec celle de l’architecte. Acteur de son propre parcours et plus proche des œuvres, le visiteur ressent la puissance du travail de l’artiste.

 

Cette approche artistique en « Image Totale » imaginée par Annabelle Mauger plonge le spectateur au cœur des œuvres peintes pour en explorer les détails.  Plus de 200 œuvres de Picasso sont ainsi projetées en « Image Totale ». Les œuvres sortent de leur cadre pour gagner l’espace dans un foisonnement de flux continu.

 

Plongé dans l’obscurité, guidé par l’unique lumière des œuvres, chacun expérimente une approche personnelle de leur présentation. Libre de choisir son propre parcours, le visiteur devenu acteur, porte son regard sans temps imposé dans plusieurs directions. Il se risque en toute liberté à pénétrer l’œuvre de Picasso.

 

La projection s’accompagne d’œuvres musicales signées à la fois par des contemporains de Picasso (Satie ou Ravel) et des compositeurs actuels. La musique amplifie l’expérience d’immersion et offre des sensations nouvelles qui ouvrent l’espace propice au rêve et à la contemplation.

 

C’est l’œil et l’oreille qui guident et non le savoir.

 

Chacun se laisse porter sans soupçonner la performance technique et technologique d’une telle exposition.

Famille d’acrobates avec singe, 1905, Konstmuseum, Göteborg
© Succession Picasso 2019